Harvard Institute of Politics Announces Tennessee State University As the 20th Member of Its National Campaign for Political and Civic Engagement

Announcement Comes at Inaugural Public Policy Address of TSU College of Public Service and Urban Affairs

Nashville, Tennessee, November 13, 2008—Bill Purcell, former Nashville mayor and current Director of the Institute of Politics at Harvard University, today announced the appointment of Tennessee State University as the twentieth member of the Institute of Politics' National Campaign for Political and Civic Engagement. Purcell made the announcement during his delivery of the inaugural public policy address of the TSU College of Public Service and Urban Affairs, of which Purcell was the founding dean. The address was part of the celebration of the grand opening of TSU's downtown Avon Williams Campus.

TSU will join the University of Tennessee and Vanderbilt University as the only Tennessee institutions in the National Campaign consortium. In 2003, Harvard's Institute of Politics established the National Campaign for Political and Civic Engagement, a consortium that today includes twenty colleges and universities around the country committed to creating more politically and civically engaged campuses. Participating schools work on their own campus and collaboratively in three key areas: establishing an ongoing relationship with electoral politics; focusing on career development; and ensuring a foundation in civic education.

One benefit of consortium membership for TSU's students is that the Institute of Politics will pay for two students per year to attend a three day conference to interact with their peers from the other consortium participants. According to Bruce Rogers, Dean of TSU's College of Public Service and Urban Affairs, "Being a part of the 20-member National Campaign for Political and Civic Engagement, sponsored by the Institute of Politics at Harvard University, will enable our participating students in the College of Public Service and Urban Affairs to discuss major public policy and political issues with their peers from around the country in the unique political setting provided by the Kennedy School of Government."

The twenty consortium schools are Allegheny College, Birmingham Southern College, Elon University, Harvard University, Louisiana State University, Ohio State University, Rutgers University, Saint Anselm College, Tennessee State University, Tufts University, University of Florida, University of Kansas, University of Oklahoma, University of Rochester, University of Southern California, University of Tennessee, Knoxville, University of Texas, University of Utah, University of Virginia, and Vanderbilt University.
